PDA

View Full Version : Why am I spending 1000.00 on hard drives?



Reno Computer Repair
November 6th, 2007, 12:35 AM
Two weeks ago I decided to build the "Beast"

The beast is a :

1. Quad-Core Processor.
2. 2GB DDR2 RAM
3. 2-500GB drives in a Raid -0, and temporarily a 400GB drive for my docs.
4. 512MB PCI-E Video Card

I had dual Raids on my old system, four 400GB Western Digital Drives, two in a Raid 0 for the C: drive, and a D: drive which was two drives on a Raid 1 for data backup.

I used one of the 400GB drives in the new system to house my docs - D: drive.
Was planning on installing two more 500GB drives Tuesday and copy that data off.

Things got a little sideways yesterday, so I backed up all of C: drive to my 500GB USB drive in preparation for a reformat. I had to delete my backup of D: drive off it first.

8 hours later and I get the delayed write fail on my D: drive.
If you ever get this error on you machine, pucker up because that message is the kiss of death for your data:pissed::eek:. I re-booted and my folders showed back up, clicked a few files -working!!!! and then wiped the sweat off....whew!!!

So I ran disk error checking 9am this morning, no errors found - looking good now.....

4PM I get back to the office with a 500GB drive to transfer the D: drive data to.
The computer locks up, re-boot & d drive not showing up::::::::::::::::oh faaaaaaaawwwwwkkkk!!!!
Yeah... Invoices, MP3's, Videos, Pictures, everything!!!!

Take the bastard 400GB drive out & put it on a USB reader, get clicking/grinding noise - another sign that an african elephant is about to rape you with metal shavings:eek:

The coincidence of my drive failing 8 hours after I deleted the backup data -fawking priceless, and about 8 trillion to one odds.

I am now running data recovery software on the second 400GB drive to get the data that was deleted when the old system was dismantled.

I ordered a Western Digital 2 Terrabyte External Network Storage solution today, in addition to 2 more 500GB drives for a second internal Raid -1 in the beast.
Never going through this $hit again. backups of backups of backups!!!!

throttleboy
November 6th, 2007, 07:08 AM
WTF did you just say?

I knew once my pc sounded like chewbacca with his nuts in a vice it was done!

Dennis
November 6th, 2007, 07:27 AM
Should have gotten a Mac. :D

Reno Computer Repair
November 6th, 2007, 07:35 AM
I think I can dump the sweat bucket now........:thumbsup:

Had this nice recovery program running since midnight on the second drive of the old raid. Looks like my documents, mp3s, videos, and most importantly PORN is safe. (Charlie?):smokin::thumbsup:

Connect
November 6th, 2007, 07:56 AM
Was this on the beast or is that not yet done? This system is a little overkill for Desert Combat dontcha think :thumbsup:

Vista super duper premium POS too I'm sure....

Reno Computer Repair
November 6th, 2007, 08:03 AM
Vista my @ss.:sick::sick::sick:
This baby is Running XP Professional SP2c, the final version.

Vista is just XP with window dressing.:spike:

Vista is a lot like XP after all the eye-candy is removed, only SLOWER:mad:


http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y225/renohomes/Computer/Quadcore2007b.jpg


http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y225/renohomes/Computer/Quadcore2007c.jpg

Like that Vista pic on the desktop?

Connect
November 6th, 2007, 09:15 AM
What's that score on Sandra?

I don't see a picture of the nvidia control panel :scratch:

Reno Computer Repair
November 6th, 2007, 09:59 AM
I remove Nvidia control panel from startup on all client computers, including mine. I only enable it for people with dual monitor setups.

Will post a Sandra score in a bit.

Reno Computer Repair
November 6th, 2007, 10:34 AM
SiSoft Sandra 2008 Scoring:

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y225/renohomes/Computer/quadcompare1.jpg


http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y225/renohomes/Computer/quadcoremips.jpg

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y225/renohomes/Computer/quadcoreharddrivei-o.jpg

BIG BLUE
November 6th, 2007, 11:09 AM
uh i just kick mine when it makes funny noises...seems to work good or I bang the mouse for no reason...my last computer I shot with a 7mm when it locked up so I thnik the new one lives in fear....:thumbsup:

and you must have a lot of porn to need that much storage.:D

76PowerWagon
November 6th, 2007, 11:10 AM
my vista runs faster than my xp machine and they're both tweaked....... :/ then again it is a beefier rig..but no quad core.. and nowhere near that amount of drive space... nice rig..

Phill Kenoyer
November 6th, 2007, 02:45 PM
Rule #1: Never leave without a backup.

I back everything up to my NAS, then back that up to DVD's.

Now if only I can get Time Machine to work with my NAS... dam it Apple!

Reno Computer Repair
November 6th, 2007, 03:15 PM
That was the whole problem........only had 1 free 500GB USB drive during this transition. The other three were full of Connect's midget porn:thumbsup:
(Actually client images that CANNOT EVER be erased)

Got the WD 2TB NAS today, so no more swapping various USB drives for backup.

So now it all goes from RAID one to USB, then to the NAS.

A backup of a backup of a backup......:thumbsup:

76PowerWagon
November 6th, 2007, 06:22 PM
cool...maybe i missed it but how much you get the 2TB nas for?

Reno Computer Repair
November 7th, 2007, 12:55 AM
It's a Western Digital 2TB Premium Gigabit NAS, Circuit City 619.00 plus tax - online or phone order only.
Best Buy wanted 800.00 for the same unit.

dharris
November 7th, 2007, 05:51 AM
Two weeks ago I decided to build the "Beast"

The beast is a :

1. Quad-Core Processor.
2. 2GB DDR2 RAM
3. 2-500GB drives in a Raid -0, and temporarily a 400GB drive for my docs.
4. 512MB PCI-E Video Card

I had dual Raids on my old system, four 400GB Western Digital Drives, two in a Raid 0 for the C: drive, and a D: drive which was two drives on a Raid 1 for data backup.

I used one of the 400GB drives in the new system to house my docs - D: drive.
Was planning on installing two more 500GB drives Tuesday and copy that data off.

Things got a little sideways yesterday, so I backed up all of C: drive to my 500GB USB drive in preparation for a reformat. I had to delete my backup of D: drive off it first.

8 hours later and I get the delayed write fail on my D: drive.
If you ever get this error on you machine, pucker up because that message is the kiss of death for your data:pissed::eek:. I re-booted and my folders showed back up, clicked a few files -working!!!! and then wiped the sweat off....whew!!!

So I ran disk error checking 9am this morning, no errors found - looking good now.....

4PM I get back to the office with a 500GB drive to transfer the D: drive data to.
The computer locks up, re-boot & d drive not showing up::::::::::::::::oh faaaaaaaawwwwwkkkk!!!!
Yeah... Invoices, MP3's, Videos, Pictures, everything!!!!

Take the bastard 400GB drive out & put it on a USB reader, get clicking/grinding noise - another sign that an african elephant is about to rape you with metal shavings:eek:

The coincidence of my drive failing 8 hours after I deleted the backup data -fawking priceless, and about 8 trillion to one odds.

I am now running data recovery software on the second 400GB drive to get the data that was deleted when the old system was dismantled.

I ordered a Western Digital 2 Terrabyte External Network Storage solution today, in addition to 2 more 500GB drives for a second internal Raid -1 in the beast.
Never going through this $hit again. backups of backups of backups!!!!
One kick a$$ PC that will smoke any Mac:rock:

Cheapscherokee
November 7th, 2007, 03:27 PM
This thing is for buisness right? Sounds a bit over kill for a home machine. Severe paranoia comes to mind if you need that much for backup on a home machine. Unless your running your buisness from home. I plan on building me a new machine come tax return time. Athlon 64 X2 , not sure which one yet, probably the fastest For around $100. New board with SLI and right now at least, I'm leaning towards an Nvidia 8600 GT with 256 mb DDR3 and possibly running 2 of those in the SLI setup. Run at least 2 gigs of ram and will probably end up getting Vista 64 prem To run on my current 120 gig 7200 rpm ultra 100 drive. I will most likely either get me another case or just upgrade my power supply to a 500 watt Antec. All depends on whats available and what I will have to spend.

Reno Computer Repair
November 7th, 2007, 08:29 PM
Yes, it is for business, see my URL at the bottom of each post?

It will also be used for some gaming related to business.:nono:
Because we are constantly fixing gaming rigs along with office workstations.

Dennis
November 7th, 2007, 09:06 PM
One kick a$$ PC that will smoke any Mac:rock:

but still can't run Mac OS X. :D and my Mac can run Vista, not that I really want to.

MIGHTYRAM97
November 7th, 2007, 09:08 PM
WTF did you just say?

I knew once my pc sounded like chewbacca with his nuts in a vice it was done!

:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl::roll::roll::roll::c huckle:

CashMoney
November 8th, 2007, 02:30 AM
uh i just kick mine when it makes funny noises...seems to work good or I bang the mouse for no reason...my last computer I shot with a 7mm when it locked up so I thnik the new one lives in fear....:thumbsup:

and you must have a lot of porn to need that much storage.:D

ya me too I put 1000 rounds of 45acp, 500 .38 special and another 750 of .40 sw through mine so I think this one knows whats comin if it pisses me off...to bad my phone crashed that had the pictures of it when i got home (note:I no longer have that phone :nervous: )

And dude wtf thats so much drive space and power that I don't think i could ever get internet fast enough to use up all that area for things (like porn hehe)

Cheapscherokee
November 8th, 2007, 05:04 AM
ya me too I put 1000 rounds of 45acp, 500 .38 special and another 750 of .40 sw through mine so I think this one knows whats comin if it pisses me off...to bad my phone crashed that had the pictures of it when i got home (note:I no longer have that phone :nervous: )

And dude wtf thats so much drive space and power that I don't think i could ever get internet fast enough to use up all that area for things (like porn hehe)

So, how many rounds for the phone?

Reno Computer Repair
November 8th, 2007, 11:51 AM
Speaking of PORN......

Sunday (yeah, work weekend sometimes) :(

At a clients home, noticed both his c: drive 120GB and d: drive 200GB
were almost full. I asked him how this could be, he said his son downloads way too much porn.

We went in and deleted 240GB of good porn (had to make sure he was watching the right stuff first). I think I am going to loan his son my 500GB external, and pass it around:thumbsup:

CashMoney
November 9th, 2007, 01:24 AM
So, how many rounds for the phone?


Speaking of PORN......

Sunday (yeah, work weekend sometimes) :(

At a clients home, noticed both his c: drive 120GB and d: drive 200GB
were almost full. I asked him how this could be, he said his son downloads way too much porn.

We went in and deleted 240GB of good porn (had to make sure he was watching the right stuff first). I think I am going to loan his son my 500GB external, and pass it around:thumbsup:

I think i was so angry I threw it out the window going down the road...

haha I like the way you think