PDA

View Full Version : A new one



Reno Computer Repair
June 19th, 2008, 05:44 AM
Once in a while through the course of our work we find something that is unique.

Yesterday while working on this laptop I was checking to see if it had SP3 installed. I looked at the processor speed and went :scratch: :scratch: :spike:

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y225/renohomes/Iphonejune2008005.jpg

So I thought I was just seeing things, but my intern said he saw it as well. So we go back to check it again, and this time instead of showing 508MHZ, it was showing the correct value of 2.12GHZ. A few more reboots and we verified it was alternating :eek:

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y225/renohomes/Iphonejune2008002.jpg

Dennis
June 19th, 2008, 05:56 AM
Don't laptops retard the CPU speed while running on battery to save power?

Reno Computer Repair
June 19th, 2008, 06:13 AM
The battery is removed on this!

MrHappy
June 19th, 2008, 12:45 PM
Don't laptops retard the CPU speed while running on battery to save power?
x2 though I have never seen one set the CPU that low. If it's not the battery/AC senerio then I would guess heat issues or a defective voltage regulator, maybe even a loose pot switch.....

EDIT: Maybe this --> http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&safe=off&q=%22Cool%27n%27Quiet%22+site%3Aamd.com

Sierra Valley
June 19th, 2008, 01:07 PM
HOLY SH!T BATMAN:eek: Dont even have the slightest idea what you are talking about.

mdtraderŠ
June 19th, 2008, 01:53 PM
x2 though I have never seen one set the CPU that low. If it's not the battery/AC senerio then I would guess heat issues or a defective voltage regulator, maybe even a loose pot switch.....

EDIT: Maybe this --> http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&safe=off&q=%22Cool%27n%27Quiet%22+site%3Aamd.com

x2...I work for the IT dept at WCSD and we have seen the same thing on some of our dell laptops with amds in them...

ThirdEye
June 19th, 2008, 02:08 PM
Yes, that's just part of AMD's Cool & Quiet driver.

It will throttle the CPU down to 800 (200x4) instead of 2.1Ghz (200x10.5) if the pc was idle. That's one reason why this chip was popular on desktops as well, was because of the unlocked muliplier and socket compatibility. It made for one hell of an overclocker too.

You can download the AMD Power Monitor to see the CPU throttle as needed, which can happen up to 30 times per second.

Reno Computer Repair
June 19th, 2008, 02:08 PM
Got it.

I went into the power options and changed the profile from portable to always on, and that made the issue go away. Just strange because I thought the speed stepping was only used when the battery was installed.

ThirdEye
June 19th, 2008, 02:17 PM
On a default installation yes, but since this is an OEM manufacturer, they most likely installed the OS with a custom power profile. Leaving the speed stepping on will have zero effect on performance, and will actually keep power usage down and the laptop cool and quiet, hence the name :)

Shinobi
June 20th, 2008, 05:54 AM
I use to have the same problem with my old laptop but I downloaded CPU Right Mark and change some settings and got it back up to the right speed :thumbsup:

Cheapscherokee
June 26th, 2008, 04:27 PM
My wifes laptop does that. Its an AMD thing, it throttles down to help keep it cooler (Doesn't work all that well when your taching the CPU though) and to conserve the battery, it is noticably slower when running off the battery though. The wifes laptop may last an hour and a half, but its a 2 year old clunky Gateway with a 17 in widescreen screen. Its spends most of its time plugged into a wall.