PDA

View Full Version : Hi, everyone.

Brizzman
January 8th, 2007, 02:51 PM
I've been playing around with my stock XJ for a few months now, and I'm pretty happy with it. I've mostly been up on Peavine, but went up to Hunter Lake a couple times, and out to Moon Rocks and Dogskin mountain. However, I want to improve a few things. I need some attachment/recovery points first. The Cherokee has none at all, and I don't see a cheap and easy place to put any. (I haven't pulled off the bumpers to look yet, though.)

Does anyone know of any simple bolt on solutions? Thanks for any suggestions.

Anyway, I'm going to go out tomorrow and maybe Wednesday (Tues and Weds off at work). A friend of mine wants to look for some caves he knew about a long time ago. :rolleyes:

Connect
January 8th, 2007, 03:12 PM
The easiest and cheapest thing to do for a rear attatchment point is to get a tow hitch. I picked mine up off an XJ at pick n pull for $13, it took 10 bolts to get it off (the nuts were in the up in the boxed frame with tabs on them so it was super easy to remove), it was easier to get it off then put it back on, but still rather simple.

As far as the front, you can get the stock XJ tow hook brackets for I think $30, and then a 10k pound bolt on tow hook from like summit for $10.

Bumpers would be the next step but they aren't super cheap, and you'd need a good welder with some skill's to build one.

kairo
January 8th, 2007, 03:14 PM
Welcome to Reno4x4. We're known somewhat lovingly by a few members as the "XJ nation" You'll find lots of XJ advice and knowledge here.

JEEPER89
January 8th, 2007, 03:19 PM
best way to add some attachement points.... sell it and buy a wrangler..;) but if you dont want to do that.. i would add some bumpers..

Brizzman
January 8th, 2007, 03:50 PM