Share |

Thread: LS Factory Harness to stand alone How To

Wheeler
    Real Name
    SHELDON

LS Factory Harness to stand alone How To

With my incredibly hectic schedule with work, kidís and wife in school I have been moving along at a drunken snails pace on my chassis. Although this didnít slow me adding to the pile of parts that I have obtainedÖ in my quest to build a nice rig with some cool shat and having like zero budget to boot that has been tough but Iím some how making it happen slowly. Anyways since I work in the Performance industry I have a far amount of contacts at good deals on parts. In my never ending quest to pinch and stretch every dime I can scrape together so build this thing I had a customer send me a stock 1999 6.0 truck engine wiring harness with coil packís and everything. The first thing I did was research. Knowing that this was a DBC and mine would also be DBC this should be a no brainer. I started off on Pirate4x4.com and that went to crap fast with all the B.S. postís in there. My goal in this was to make a stand alone harness out of the factory harness. I found few site that offered a small amount here and there but not everything. I finally found a site www.lt1swap.com this site has there crap together.
    Here is the link to the PCM pin out and what needís to be removed and what getís power
    www.lt1swap.com/99-02_vortec_pcm.htm

This is what I started off with Öa stocker harness

I stripped off all the factory tape, convoluted tubing

No the wife wasnít pissed about me using the dining room table as a bench  thatís why I love her
    As I removed the tape and tubing I used small zip ties to loosely hold it together. I also used one before and after when the wiring split out to sensors then used one on that part of the harness too as to hold it together in hopes it didnít completely fall apart lol unfortunately I did not get pics of this but you get the idea. Once I was done with that is was on to getting the harness stripped down.