PDA

View Full Version : Should I Trade my 2.5L for an 4.0L Jeep TJ???

MrRiceGuyRJ
March 31st, 2011, 08:04 PM
There's a neighbor down the street that has a nice looking '97 TJ for sale, and I'm torn on if I should buy it or not.

His (1997 TJ Sport):
4.0L with 5-speed manual with 104k miles, Hard top with half doors and soft windows, roof rack, nerf bar bumbers (similar to http://www.jeep4x4center.com/tj/52403K78.jpg), clean interior, no a/c, non-working heater, runs okay but has a couple quirky sounds, stock suspension

Mine (2000 TJ Sport SE):
2.5L with 5-speed manual with 102k miles, soft top with half doors and soft windows, fair interior, no a/c, working heater, runs good but has engine ticking, coil spacers with 33" tires

The neighbors Jeep has been sitting for a LONG time but it runs, but I'm sure it has some possible mechanical issues. I haven't investigated how serious they are, nor am I'm a confident enough mechanic to really know what I'm looking at. He's asking $6k, but in desperation is willing to sell for $4k. I'm considering buying his Jeep, putting my lift and tires on it, and using it as my weekend warrior rig, and selling mine as a more or less stock 4-banger. I'm sure I can clean mine up and sell for a the same price if not more. Should I pull the trigger?

I could use a couple voice-of-reasons.

Anyone wanna come with me to check it out and let me know if there's anything seriously wrong with it? I buy the beers and/or food.

litlmeck
March 31st, 2011, 08:10 PM
Yes

MrRiceGuyRJ
March 31st, 2011, 09:36 PM
Thank you for your infinite insight and knowledge.

Reno Computer Repair
March 31st, 2011, 09:43 PM
Yes. I made the jump from a 2.5 to a 4.0 two years ago. Best choice ever, no more 2nd gear 5500RPM up [email protected] Parr. 4K and a hard top/hard doors sounds nice.

MrHappy
March 31st, 2011, 10:53 PM